Tags

,


Hey everyone! As I am getting back into writing more, I want to share some of the things I’ve been up to during my absence. Today, specifically, I want to talk about one frequently used, household product,  and a way to ‘GO GREEN!’

I recently discovered homemade laundry soap. OK, that’s a lie. I discovered this a few years ago, about the time my oldest son was a freshman at Michigan State University (MSU). My mom had just started making her own laundry soap. She supplied my son with all his laundry soap needs that year. Mom kept telling me,

Now, Jennifer, you really should try making your own laundry soap. It would save you so much money.

I laughed inside, because I was remembering 20 years earlier, when she thought it would be ‘cost effective’ to buy this nasty, blue, liquid soap and pour it into a container for shower gel. I was a teenager at that time, and I ended up being quite allergic to that soap. No matter how much I begged, she would not stop using this itchy soap. So, I was forced to use shampoo in place of it (sorry, Mom). Needless to say, I’ve been using name brand items ever since.

So, no offense against my mother, but I really had to swallow my childhood memories and give this homemade laundry soap a try. And, I can happily say, I’m really, REALLY glad I did. Yes, it takes a few minutes to make it, but it really is worth it!

Here are the ingredients needed for this homemade laundry soap:

Ingredients for homemade laundry detergent

Ingredients for homemade laundry detergent

  • 1 1/2 cups of borax
  • 1 1/2 cups of washing soda
  • 1 bar of Fels-Naptha soap
  1. Mix the borax and washing soda in a large bowl. You can use kitchen equipment, as these are natural cleaning agents.
  2. Grate the Fels-Naptha soap on a cheese grater. You can also use a food processor. I use an old rusty cheese grater for this job (found it at Goodwill for $.25). I use the medium-size holes, shown at the top of the picture.
Cheese grater

The Trusty Rusty Cheese Grater

And, I apologize that I am not YET the crafty woman who will show you a pretty little jar with a cute sign. Not me. I stuck it all in Ziploc bag…lol.

Finished homemade laundry detergent

Finished homemade laundry detergent

You are probably wondering, “It sounds good, but how much to the supplies cost?” Hell, I don’t know exactly. I am so bad about saving receipts. I tried to call Meijer to ask (which is where I bought the supplies), and everyone was basically like,

20 Mule Team What?????

Sigh…you sell the stuff, it’s your product. Anyway, here are the prices I found locally for the products. DON’T BUY THE BORAX ONLINE, LIKE, AT AMAZON…IT’S VERY EXPENSIVE!

Meijer: $3.49 Borax, $3.29 Washing Soda, $1.09 Fels-Naptha Soap = $7.87

Walmart: $3.38 Borax, $3.24 Washing Soda, $.97 Fels-Naptha Soap = $7.59

I put this newly concocted detergent to the test. I was amazed at the wonderful smell that emanated from my washing machine. The Teenager discovered me bent over the washing machine in true bliss, just smelling that heavenly smell. I didn’t realize any laundry smell could smell that good, and I’m a Tide/Era type of girl!! And yes, that is a Folger’s 1-tablespoon scoop. For a small to average-size load, I recommend 1 tablespoon of the soap. For larger loads, use up to 2 tablespoons if you’re like me and like your laundry to smell extra-clean.

One thing I can say about this laundry soap is that it will get old dirt out of clothes. If you think your Tide is getting all the dirt out, you are sadly mistaken. I was surprised at how much ‘old dirt’ was pulled from my clothes. Also, another notable fact is that I line dry all my clothes when the temperature is above 50 or 60 degrees. My clothes smell amazing AFTER they come off the clothesline, and I didn’t get that benefit when using Tide or Era.

But, my favorite thing about homemade laundry soap is the smell that permeates my house. I can smell it coming from the basement. It’s worth it to me.

Anyway, off to do more laundry…

