Tags

, , , ,


The one thing about Michigan weather is the seasonal depression that goes along with being cooped up inside for four months while waiting for spring to arrive. The bad thing about this last year is there was already moderate depression. The winter months just added to what was already here. I will go more into that in an upcoming post soon.

This year, however, there really hasn’t been much of a spring. This week has been chilly, but we have already experienced 80-plus degree weather. With these recent and crazy amount of tornadoes tearing through Texas, Oklahoma, even near Flint, Michigan, the weather has not been very steady here in Battle Creek.

Which means, I am glad for this on one hand, because I am running a little behind getting the garden planted. Trying to find a day that is weather permitting AND coordinates with my schedule is a bit challenging. Lots of rain, wind, and even some frost has popped up after I thought frost season was over. NOPE! There went my strawberry plants…will have to buy more this weekend.

We were able to rototill up a plot of land and flip the dirt again by shovel. It’s big enough for me to get started. I am crossing my fingers that my garden will be successful this year, as my yard is a bit sandy in places. I’ve been bringing in top soil and cow manure to add to the dirt.

The Teenager at work after getting into some trouble...this is good for him, he wants to enlist in the military.

The Teenager at work after getting into some trouble…this is good for him, he wants to enlist in the military.

After nearly 4 hours of digging (with a 1/2 hour supper break), The Happy Teenager was glad to pose for a picture and show off what he got done.

After nearly 4 hours of digging (with a 1/2 hour supper break), The Happy Teenager was glad to pose for a picture and show off what he got done. YES MOM, WE ARE MOWING THIS WEEKEND! lol

Needless to say, that’s not all we have gotten done. I also planted my herb garden just outside my kitchen door. I found chocolate mint and planted that, as well. The house next door has been empty for over six months, and the bank has taken back over it. On the edge of the garage, I found a patch of spearmint growing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m not going to bore you with the rest of the pictures yet, not until we have more plants growing. We will be growing pumpkins, too, and if they turn out well (I’ve never grown pumpkins before), then I will sell some of them this fall for Halloween. If my garden does well, I might set up a vegetable stand out front. Who knows? I have so much going on right now, that I can’t predict what each day will be like, especially if there’s an appointment for me or my kids.

Time to go plant the tomatoes and green peppers…

