Tags

, , , ,


I am a Michigander, born and bred and have never lived anywhere but in Michigan. I have seen my share of ice storms, power outages, and car accidents because of the freaky weather here. For those people who like snow and cold, Michigan is an ideal place to live.

Luckily, we are located in the southern part of the state, which I am glad for. It snows much worse in northern Michigan and in the Upper Peninsula.

Over the years, Michigan winters have changed some. Snow is arriving later in the season, and winters have become fairly mild. And, while we get our fair share of snow, the winter season is much milder.

Last week, I wore just a sweatshirt and haven’t had to wear my gloves most days.

Until today.

I woke up the first time at 6 am and had one of the worst migraines I’ve had in a long time. And, judging from the cold air seeping into my room, I knew climbing out of my toasty bed and going to the cold kitchen to get my migraine medicine was going to be a bitch.

6:05 a.m.

And, then I heard it. The loud voice of Keegan laughing and chatting away, causing a seriously vicious blast in my head. Normally, I let all the dogs out in the morning so the kids can concentrate on getting ready for school. All I could do was grab my head and squeeze it as hard as I could. And, when Keegan is making noise, everyone hears him. He is so loud! Well, at least he wasn’t arguing with The Teenager.

I had no choice but to get up and get the migraine medicine. On the way to the kitchen, I stopped at Keegan’s bedroom door and walked over to where he was standing. (It didn’t help that Reigh is here for awhile.) So, of course The Teenager and Keegan would have Reigh up and awake and were hanging out with him and chatting. Robbie was also up and ready to leave for work. An early morning party going on.

(Yes, I rescue dogs, but sometimes, I have to rescue some homosapiens, as well. There are a few temporarily displaced people at my house right now.)

Jennifer: Keegan, get ready for school and quit playing around.

Keegan: I am ready for school. I woke up early this morning.

(…this means he has 40 minutes before he has to leave for school…sweet…)

Jennifer: Then let all the dogs out. They need to use the bathroom.

Keegan: But, I…

Jennifer: Yo, don’t argue. I have a killer migraine. I need you to do this for me. If you argue or don’t comply, you will not be able to find a video game controller when you get home.

Keegan: *HUGE SIGH, ROLL OF EYES* Come on Buddha, let’s go outside.

I took my Imitrex pill and went back to bed. I tried to go back to sleep, but this migraine was horrible. I got up and drank a quick cup of coffee, as well, hoping the caffeine would help take the edge off of the migraine. In times like this, I use the relaxation techniques I learned in Lamaze class, and usually, I will fall back asleep.

NOT THIS TIME

I tried to peer out a window to see how much snow we had gotten, but it was too dark to tell yet.

6:20 a.m.

After tossing and turning for awhile, I heard it again. KEEGAN’S LOUD MOUTH. I tried to yell his name from the comfort of my bed, but the pressure in my head felt like an instant explosion, and, as I watched the flash of light that pulsed underneath my eyelids. I grabbed my head and squeezed it hard, yet again. God, I felt sick!

I laid there for a moment and waiting for the throbbing in my head to slow down. I crawled out of bed, still grabbing my head and made my way to Keegan’s room, yet again.

Jennifer: Keegan, if I here any more hollering from you, I promise you will not find your video game controllers when you get home from school.

Keegan: But, I didn’t…

Jennifer: …the only thing you are doing wrong is the hollering. Talk like you’re supposed to in a library. Shh….quiet (as I lower my voice to nearly nothing to show him what I mean).

Keegan: *HUGE SIGH, ROLL OF EYES* Ok…sorry.

Jennifer: (to everyone else sitting in the room) Would you guys please help remind him to keep his voice down? There is still one person trying to sleep (an extended family member also staying at the house…yes, three people with no immediate place to go).

The Teenager and Reigh agreed, as Robbie just sat there laughing and provoking Keegan. Men are like little kids, I swear!

6:30 a.m.

I grabbed my Android to check the outside temperature. It was -6° F. Damn it. And, I have to walk downtown today to pay my water bill. With a migraine. The thought of it immediately made me sick. I took the medications for my back, maybe the muscle relaxer would help my migraine.

Lay back down.

6:45 a.m.

Still awake and feeling like crap. I hear The Teenager and Keegan leave to catch their buses for school.

I went into Keegan’s room and sat down and chatted with Reigh for awhile. Reigh has been living an hour away from me for the last six months. I visited him on the Fourth of July, spent the night. He came back and spent a few days with me at Christmas time. We text and talk a lot. He is my ‘adopted’ son, not by legal definitions, but in my heart. He lived with me the first few months after I bought my house.

7:00 a.m.

Migraine is still nagging at my temples and base of my neck. I take another Imitrex and wait.

8:00 a.m.

I call City Hall. No water shut-off is scheduled for me today. Good, because now I can concentrate on getting rid of the migraine before I walk downtown in the cold.

I decide to send a text message to my friend, Tom. He has to be to work by 7 am. I’m sure he was not happy this morning when he had to clean off his truck.

Jennifer: Holy batman fucking hard nipple weather…wth! And, it’s supposed to get back to nearly 40° in less than a week.

Tom: Yup it’s -1°!!

My back yard

snow in my back yard

Jennifer: Actually, it’s 1° now…lol

Tom: Wow…heatwave…lol

Jennifer: Yeah, no shit.

Tom: Lol

I just looked out the window.

And, with that being said, time to walk to City Hall and pay my water bill. *dragging feet* I really wish I was in Florida right now.

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

