Tags

, ,


Finish the Sentence Friday

join us for Finish the Sentence Friday

Welcome to Finish The Sentence Friday (FTSF #2), where we give you a sentence and you finish it (however long or short you’d like). Write a post and link it up, or if you don’t blog, feel free to finish the sentence in the comments for everyone to see.

Please Do Follow Your Hosts:
Janine @ Janine’s Confessions of a Mommyaholic
Kate @ Can I Get Another Bottle of Whine with My Morning Quiet Time

Also Your Co-Hosts:
Jennifer @ JenJen’s Soapbox of Parodies
Stephanie @ Mommy, for Real

The sentence for this week:

“One of the most embarrassing things I ever did was…”

Next week’s sentence to finish: “The last time I went on vacation, I…”

Red Faded to Black

One of the most embarrassing things I ever did was when I was in the third grade. My parents had my brother and me enrolled at a private school at our church, and because the classes were so small, they combined two grades in each classroom. We shared our classroom with the second graders.

And, here’s a tidbit of information to raise an eyebrow at. Back in those days, the teachers had no problems spanking us when we got into trouble. I’m not even sure if it was legal back then, or if my mom made it very clear that if we got into trouble, they were welcome to whoop our butts, so to speak. And, they also used a paddle of some type.

One of the ‘cool’ things to do was to collect pencil erasers from the Fun Factory. Most of the kids in my class all went there and had a wide variety of erasers they would trade back and forth between them, plotting and bargaining during our lunch  recess. They varied in shapes and sizes. Some looked like fruit. Some looked like animals. The variety was endless.

I wasn’t in the ‘cool’ bunch because my parents survived off of one income. My mom preferred to stay home and be a mother instead of putting us into day care and getting a job. Money was not a luxury, and she bought our clothes from secondhand stores. She sure did love Goodwill! (I hated Goodwill as a kid but love it now.)

I remember having a few measly erasers, and I would become so envious of what the other kids had in their possession. I was inwardly angry at my dad for never allowing us to go to the Fun Factory.

My particular favorite was an eraser in the shape of a die (you know, game dice?), but it was bigger than your average die. It was closer to the size of a golf ball, except it was square (obviously, I mean, who has EVER heard of a round dice?)

One day, one of the boys in my class, the one with the most erasers, made me mad. To this day, I can’t remember what he did, but it was probably along the lines of making fun of me or calling me names. So, when he left his desk that day, I snatched one of those die erasers, as he had several dice varieties. I mean, he couldn’t possibly miss one eraser when he had more than a hundred in his desk, right?

WRONG.

Not only did the teacher figure out it was me (I mean, seriously, if you’re going to steal something from someone, don’t run around flaunting it in their face while claiming it belongs to you.), and she sent for the principal.

I was instructed to stay in my seat, and I had a feeling something bad was about to happen. A dark and quiet hush fell across the classroom, when finally, the principal walked into the room.

And he was carrying his famous ping pong paddle, the same one that had delivered a few smacks on my ass in the past, but it had always happened in privacy of the principal’s office.

NOT THIS TIME!

This man had every intention of whooping my butt in front of the entire second and third grade students, and since our classroom took up only half of a modular trailer (with Kindergarten and first grade in the adjoining room with a doorway in between), everyone in the other classroom would be hearing what was going on.

Oh, hell no. I bolted. I booked straight for the door. That didn’t work, because another school employee had come in with him and was blocking the door. I tried to run through the adjoining door to the Kindergarten class, but my teacher jumped in the way. The principal told me to surrender, or I’d get spanked harder and with extra whacks.

If I could have jumped through a window, I would have.

The principal finally caught up with me and dragged me in front of the class, made me bend over, and whacked me multiple times on the butt with that stupid ping pong paddle. It hurt, but, not as bad as the whooping I knew was waiting for me when I got home from school, where Mom would finish what the principal was afraid to do, either with a wooden paint stirrer or wooden spoon (on the bare butt, no less).

Damn, all that for a Fun Factory eraser!

Red Faded to Black

Welcome again to the Finish the Sentence Friday Weekly Blog Hop, where we will supply you with a sentence that you will have to finish in the comment section or your own blog post in order to link up your blog with us. Don’t forget to follow your hosts, too.  Please also copy and paste the blog hop button somewhere on your blog, either in your sidebar or in your post.  Have fun with this and can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

